Syke gets a new advisory board

News 2023-06-28 at 13:00
© AdobeStock

The Ministry of the Environment appointed a new advisory board to the Finnish Environment Institute, chaired by the Dean, Professor of Applied Ecology Mikko Mönkkönen from the University of Jyväskylä.

In addition to the Chair, the Advisory Board consists of 12 members. From Syke participate Director General Leif Schulman and Marine Analyst Jere Riikonen. The secretary of the advisory board is Research Director Eeva Primmer and the secretary's assistant is Laura Hautalampi.

The tasks of the Advisory Board include a general evaluation of research and development activities in the field of environment, support for strategic planning and promoting cooperation between the Finnish Environment Institute and its stakeholders. The term of the new Advisory Board is 1 June 2023 to 31 December 2026.

Syke Advisory Board 6/2023-12/2026


  • Dean, Professor of Applied Ecology Mikko Mönkkönen, University of Jyväskylä


  • Laura Höijer, Research Director (Ministry of the Environment)
  • Undersecretary of State Petri Peltonen (Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment)
  • Tuomas Hallenberg, Director of Property Development (Metsähallitus)
  • Miira Riipinen, Director of the Community and Environment Unit (Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities Ry)
  • Tiina Nakari-Setälä, Head of Business Development (VTT Oy)
  • Mari Pantsar, Docent, entrepreneur (Kari & Pantsar Co.)
  • Timo Jokelainen, Director (Lapland Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment)
  • Anne Toppinen, Professor, Vice Dean (University of Helsinki)
  • Janne Peljo, Senior Specialist (Confederation of Finnish Industries)
  • Pieta Jarva, Strategy Director (Baltic Sea Action Group)
  • Jere Riikonen, Marine Analyst, Staff Representative (Finnish Environment Institute)
  • Leif Schulman, Director-General (Finnish Environment Institute)

The secretary of the advisory board is Research Director Eeva Primmer.

Read more

Target group: